DVM Alumni Awards

Nominations are now open for Alumni Awards 2019.


Deadline is September 1, 2019.

Recipients will be announced by January 1.

Recipients will be honored at a reception at WSU as part of the CVM Spring Conference March 27 – 29, 2020.

For more information contact Michelle Mielke at (509) 335-1365 or mielke@vetmed.wsu.edu.

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Veterinary Alumni Award

The College of Veterinary Medicine's Distinguished Veterinary Alumni Award is given to honor distinguished DVM graduates for veterinary excellence in practice or teaching and research.




  • Scott Adams (’72 DVM, ’79 Ph.D.) Excellence in Teaching and Research

Online Nomination Form

Distinguished Graduate Alumni Award

The College of Veterinary Medicine's Distinguished Graduate Alumni Award is given to honor distinguished M.S. or Ph.D. graduates for excellence in research, teaching, service, or business.


Online Nomination Form

Outstanding Service Award

The Outstanding Service Award is given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to animals and/or the WSU College of Veterinary Medicine.


  • Dr. James McBain ('68)

Online Nomination Form

McCoy Award

One of the most prestigious awards made by the college, the John E. McCoy Award is given to an outstanding worker in the field of clinical veterinary medicine.


  • Dr. Lauren Trepanier

Regents' Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Regents' Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor granted to WSU alumni. Below are some of the distinguished College of Veterinary Medicine graduates who have received this prestigious university-level award.

2016: James A. Wells ('79)
2015: John L. Poppe ('86)
2013: Nancy Gillett ('78)
2008: Roger O. McClellan ('60)
1993: John Gorham('47)
1987: Leo K Bustad ('49)